Vegan Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Banana Oat Pancakes

Repeat after me, “I am a pancake addict.” Time to enter a 12 step program? No way! You can have pancakes AND abs (Really, you can!) The key is to make homemade pancakes from scratch, not a box of that just-add-water nonsense. I make pancakes several times a week (breakfast, brunch, lunch, dinner, dessert- any time is a good time for pancakes) and it only takes a few minutes to whip up a homemade batter. I have a handful of go-to pancake recipes but I always make them my own (and healthier) by changing up, adding, and subtracting a few ingredients. This recipe in particular I tried for the first time yesterday and it was really a “What will happen if I throw this in there and leave this out” kind of thing, and my 2 year old daughter and I loved them so much we made them for lunch again today! *And the mom of the year award goes to….* haha

All out of sugar and syrup? No problem! These pancakes are so full of flavor you don’t need any added sweetness.

pancake

Vegan Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Banana Oat Pancakes:

*1 ripe banana

*1/4 cup pumpkin puree

*1t baking powder

*1/2t ground cinnamon

*1 flax egg (1T ground flaxseed meal, 3T water)

*pinch salt (I used pink Himalayan salt)

*1/2t vanilla extract

*1T oil (canola, coconut, whatever kind you have on hand!)

*4T soy milk (or almond/coconut/flax/rice)

*1/2 cup oats

*1/4 cup flour (unbleached- no one wants to eat bleach)

*3T semi-sweet chocolate chips (vegan)

Instructions:

  1. Make flax egg, let sit in fridge for 5 minutes.
  2. Mash banana.
  3. Add remaining ingredients.
  4. Mix.
  5. Spray warmed griddle with oil.
  6. Drop pancake batter on griddle.
  7. Flip once edges start bubbling.

Want more healthy recipes and health and fitness motivation? Join my free Facebook support group, Team Sweet & Fit!

I also have a super fun Cize challenge group starting 8/3! Join us to dance up a storm, make some friends, and lose some inches! (No dance experience required!)

Leave a Reply

