Find Yourself (Again)

Sometimes life can be so hectic that we forget who we are. We’re so busy in our lives working, caring for our families, going to school, taking care of a home, and trying to make relationships work, we don’t have time to sit down and do the things we enjoy. Before I got married and started a family I loved to spend my Sunday mornings sitting in Starbucks with a New York Times, a scone, and a latte. Obviously once you start a family those little pleasures disappear. Not to say that there aren’t new joys to fill your day, because there are, but it’s just not realistic to think that you can quietly relax in a chair at Starbucks when you have a toddler running around screaming. And honestly, at the end of the day, I usually don’t even have the energy to read or think, even on a “day off.”

I was just going through my Facebook intending to clean it up and edit my favorite music, interests, etc. since I haven’t done so in, oh, 2-3 years. But instead of finding things I wanted to change, I found that I still have all of the same interests that I had 3 years ago. I still like the same music, I still love yoga, meditation, baking, and football, and I still like the same books and newspapers. However, I can’t remember the last time I meditated or sat down to read a newspaper; who has time for that? That’s when I realized I had lost myself in my busy life. I think it is so important to take time for yourself once in a while to regain yourself; I read that all the time in parenting magazines. It is essential to a healthy relationship to do things you enjoy and stay connected with the people in your life outside of your family so that you can appreciate what you have while still being happy. Unfortunately I can’t say that I have done a great job maintaining a healthy relationship, and perhaps it’s partly because we both forgot who we are, and we both prevent each other from being ourselves. That spells disaster in any language.

I need to make it my goal to find balance in my life, and if you feel like you are losing yourself too, then maybe you should give it a try too. If anyone finds any way that works I’d love to hear it!

Leave a Reply

