Defining Love

Love is a term that will never be completely captured by a definition. According to the dictionary, love is, “A profoundly tender, passionate affection for another person.” I don’t think it’s that simple. Love is not simply an affection or a tender emotion; it is an obsession, a state of mind, a yearning to constantly please someone. So many people are so quick to say, “I love you,” because they don’t quite understand what love is. Someone who cheats on their spouse is not in love; perhaps they have lust for their spouse, but they do not truly love them. When one is in love one would do anything to protect that person whom they love. They would never hurt that person, and they certainly would never want someone else. This concept is impossible to understand unless you have been in love. I’m not certain we ever fall out of love completely; there will always be that ache in your heart when you hear their name.

I believe Shakespeare teaches some of the most important lessons of love. In Act III Scene I of The Tempest he says, “Hear my soul speak. Of the very instant that I saw you, Did my heart fly at your service.” A person in love would do anything for the person whom they love. Act I Scene I of A Midsummer Night’s Dream states, “Love looks not with the eyes, but with the mind, And therefore is winged Cupid painted blind.” Love is truly blind. When you are in love you do not see that person’s flaws as others do. You do not only fall in love with their good traits, but also their imperfections. Finally, Hamlet says in Act II Scene II, “Doubt that the stars are fire, Doubt that the sun doth move his aides, Doubt truth to be a liar, But never doubt I love.” Love is knowing. One does not think one is in love, one IS in love, until death do you part. Love is forever, be it a curse or a gift.

Call me crazy or obsessed, but I call it love.

Sources:

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/love

http://www.nosweatshakespeare.com/quotes/shakespeare-love-quotes.htm

Leave a Reply

