It’s A Barbie World

One thing that bothers me is the need to be fake.  Whenever I see a person covered in heavy makeup, or people that spray tan, or hear about someone who gets cosmetic surgery I can’t help but wonder, “What are you so ashamed of?”  I can understand on some level the need to fit in and be perfect, especially during one’s younger years (such as the ever-so-brutal highschool years).  I’m sure the vast majority of us has tried to change something about our appearance to be just like someone we wish we were.  For instance, a not-so-girly-girl forcing herself to wear high heels because all of the magazines say it’s the thing to do.  I can even admit to repeatedly bleaching my brown hair, and despising when my impossible-to-cover natural red highlights made it look ridiculous.  Growing up I always felt the nagging urge to layer what seemed like pounds of coverup on my face to hide my freckles.  Now that I’m older, I look back on those times and just laugh at myself.  I finally embrace my glow-in-the-dark pale skin and gave up frying myself in a tanning booth for $20 a week; I could never imagine pouring toxic chemicals into my hair to pretend to be a blonde; & as for my freckles, I have become completely comfortable with the fact that I will always have that 5 year old “cute” look that made old ladies pinch my cheeks.  So why is it that grown adults feel the need to constantly change themselves and hide their true beauty?  When Ashlee Simpson got a nose job and bleached her hair to look like her sister she went from beautiful to plastic.  If you were born with brown eyes, then learn to love them; don’t get bright blue contacts!  We were all born the way we were for a reason; we reflect the rich culture within our backgrounds and hold the physical traits of our parents and siblings.  I love nothing more than to walk into a grocery store and have a complete strange walk up and ask, “Are you a Salgot?”  Yeah, I look just like my dad, and I’m proud of it.  I am who I am, and you can count on me to not go spend thousands of dollars to morph into someone else.

3 thoughts on “It’s A Barbie World

  1. First one of your writings I’ve read and I love it. Now, I’m keeping this comment short in order to continue reading your previous blogs. 🙂 Way to go!!

Leave a Reply

