Just Smile

Today is the day that “I have arrived,” as some would say.  There comes a point in everyone’s life (hopefully) that you look back at all of your decisions, mistakes, triumphs, and memories and make peace with yourself.  Though things might have gone smoother, some conflicts avoided, you let go of all your regrets and ill-feelings and just know that you have made the right choices for yourself.  This epiphany just occurred to me when I was looking at old pictures, and then new pictures of people that were once in my life but are no longer, and instead of feeling any sort of nostalgia or resentment over how they’ve achieved happiness without me, I actually smiled and felt happy for them.  I suppose it could just be the amount of caffeine in my system, but I honestly believe that I have officially come to terms with how my life has worked out so far and the mystery that is my future.  I’m actually excited (though nervous) for the future, and completely content with the present.  I hope this happens to all of you.  It feels incredible to let go of any hatred or anger you harbor towards anyone (including yourself) and just live in the moment knowing everything happened for a reason, and everything will work out in the end.  There is really no point in suffering for something you cannot change, and that kind of stress is bad for you mentally as well as physically.  As happiness expert/author Gretchen Rubin says, “Act the way you want to feel.”  In other words, just force yourself to smile and eventually the smile will be sincere.

Leave a Reply

